Syllabus--English 12

Mr. Tolley, B & E 204

jeffrey.tolley@rrps.net

 

Text: Springboard English Language Arts Grade 12. The College Board, 2018. ISBN# 978-1-4573-0841-3

Students are given the first copy of this consumable text at no charge, but they will be responsible for replacing the text if it is lost or stolen. Students are expected to have their copy of the text each day in class.

 

Materials and Supplies: Students will need:

•pencils

•black or blue ink pens for final writing drafts

•red pens for peer review and editing

•spiral notebook for taking notes, including Reader-Writer Notebook notes

•loose leaf paper for submitted assignments

•a three ring binder. Dividing tabs for the binder will be labeled at the discretion of the student, but I suggest "notes", "work to be turned in", and "graded work". Students are encouraged to use additional tabs that will help them to be organized.

            •A box of tissue for class use is appreciated

 

Absences/Attendance: Students are expected to be present and on time to class every day. I usually take attendance by sign-in sheets and then I match the sign-in with the physical student count. Students will be marked tardy when they are not in class and ready to participate when the bell rings. Students will receive a discipline referral for leaving class without permission if they leave the class before they are dismissed at the bell.

 

Make-up Work: I follow the Rio Rancho High School policy on make-up work. Students have the same number of days they were absent to complete and turn in homework and in-class assignments. For example, if the student is absent for an assignment on Monday and the student returns on Tuesday, the assignment is due for that student on Wednesday. In the event a long-term assignment or project is given, the due date will stand. For example, if a project is assigned on March 1 and is due on March 10, the student is aware of the due date and the expectations for the assignment. If the student is absent on the due date the project is still due and the student should make arrangements to have the project turned in. Of course, I will always work with students who have difficult circumstances. The key is communication. Students are responsible for checking in with the teacher when they return from an absence for all make-up work.

 

Missing Work: The worst academic decision a student can make is to take a zero on an assignment. High school is not only about putting numbers in the grade book; it is vitally important that students build skills and then demonstrate that they have mastered those skills through the successful completion of Embedded Assessments (to use the Springboard terminology). Skill building and demonstration of mastery are key components of a growth mindset.

When a student does not turn in an assignment when it is due, the student's assignment will be marked as "missing" in the grade book. "I forgot", "It wasn't done", and "I didn't understand" are not acceptable excuses. The zero will stand as missing work until the assignment is complete. Students will have until the day the Embedded Assessment starts to turn in missing "Practice" assignments. If a student turns in an assignment that is partially complete and the student has been making a legitimate effort to finish, they will be allowed to finish. Be careful not to take advantage of this. Having unrelated conversations with classmates, sneaking time on a phone or game, and sleeping and then rushing in the last few minutes to get something done does not constitute a legitimate effort.

Under no circumstances will a student be allowed to make up multiple zeros at the end of a grading period to save a grade. Grading periods are nine weeks long and students are expected to recognize the importance of every assignment. 

 

Behavior: High school students are old enough to be held accountable for and police their own behavior. A few things that will likely bring unwanted attention to students are:

--Foul and abusive language.

--Demeaning, bullying, and any sort of harassment.

--Eating/drinking around any computer.

--Using personal technology during class.

--Habitual tardiness/absences.

--Distracting other students.

Students should be aware of proper behavior in an academic setting. 

 

Classroom Norms: Students should:

            •Listen with respect when someone else is speaking, including the teacher.

            •Contribute positively to conversations and activities

            •Tolerate all beliefs and points of view, even if they do not share them.

            •Use differences of opinion as vehicles for learning.

            •Avoid distractions such as electronics, conversations unrelated to class, and others.

            •Respect the schedule: Be on time, meet due dates, don’t leave early.

            •Use time out of class wisely—missing instruction is not a good idea.

 

Grading: Embedded Assessments and other formal assessments are worth 80% of the student grade. These are essays, projects, and presentations and quizzes. Practice such as classwork and homework grades are worth 20%. The semester final exams are worth 20% of the semester grade.

            90 - 100 = A

            80 – 89 = B

            70 – 79 = C

            60 – 69 = D

            59 and below = F

 

I do not offer extra credit work, but I encourage students to re-write assessments for the higher grade within a reasonable period of time. Practice assignments may be re-done for skill mastery, but they will likely not be re-graded.

 

Chrome Books: Each student will have an assigned Chrome Book (laptop) for in-class use. Students are responsible for their assigned computer, and should bring any problems to my attention immediately.

 

Google Classroom: The majority of assignments will be completed digitally, submitted digitally, and graded digitally. If you're not used to this manner of work flow you will discover that it is preferable to paper copies.

 

Fall Semester, Day by Day

Thursday, August 9--First day of school--Introductions, syllabus, books, etc.

 

Friday, August 10--Unpacking Springboard; expectations, formatting, Chrome books--p. 1g, 1h, 1j

 

Monday, August 13--1.2 Perception Puzzles https://www.scientificpsychic.com/graphics/index.html/

 

Tuesday, August 14--Aphorisms, p. 6, and Aphorisms Quickwrite due on Google Classroom as Word or Google       Doc.

Wednesday August 15--1.3 Differing Perspectives. Perspective Graphic Organizer Due on Google Classroom

 

Thursday, August 16--1.4 Papa's Waltz, Introduction to Reader's Response Criticism

 

Friday, August 17--1.5 Poems. Small Group analysis, groups of 4 focus on Second Read. Share.

 

Monday, August 20--1.16 Optical illusions, unpack page 57

 

Monday, August 20--1.17 What is Cultural Criticism? 

 

Tuesday, August 21--1.17 Writing Prompt, p. 59, Rodriquez's "Speaking with Hands"

 

Wednesday, August 22--1.18 White Man's/Poor Man's Burden--Small Group Work

 

Thursday, August 23--1.18 White Man's/Poor Man's Burden--Group Share

 

Friday, August 24--1.19 Reviewing the Reflective Essay/"Shooting an Elephant"

 

Monday, August 27--1.19 "Shooting an Elephant" writing prompt, p. 

 

Tuesday, August 28--1.20 Linda Jong/Edward Scissorhands

 

Wednesday, August 29--1.20 Linda Jong/Edward Scissorhands  (OPEN HOUSE)

 

Thursday, August 30--1.21

 

Friday, August 31--Preparing for EA 1.2

 

Monday, September 3--Labor Day, No School

 

Tuesday, September 4--Friday September 7--Embedded Assessment 1.2

 

Tuesday, September 4--Planning, Outlining, and Evidence

 

Wednesday, September 5--Composing the EA

 

Thursday, September 6--Peer Review and Editing

 

Friday, September 7--Final Copy/Submission of the EA

 

Monday, September 10--Review and Application of the Rubric for EA 1.2

 

Tuesday, September 11--Introduction to the ACT.org interactive website; Practice Quiz 1

 

Wednesday, September 12--Breaking down the structure of an ACT Passage

 

Thursday, September 13--The elements of multiple choice questions; answer strategies

 

Friday, September 14--ACT Practice Reading Quiz 2

 

Monday, September 17--Writing Workshop: Rewriting the EA

 

Tuesday, September 18--Writing Workshop: Rewriting the EA

 

Wednesday, September 19--Presentation of Archetypes; Page 103 in Springboard

 

Thursday, September 20--Archetypes in video clips

 

Friday, September 21--Powerful and multiple Archetypes

 

Monday, September 24--Ovid's Pymalion and the Statue

 

Tuesday, September 25--Reading Practice Exam in Zinc

 

Wednesday, September 26--Activity 2.4 revisited--Ovid's themes

 

Thursday, September 27--2.13, From a Marxist Perspective

 

Friday, September 28--2.15, Unpacking EA 2.2, Intro to the Feminist Lens

 

Monday, October 1--Unit 1 Multiple Choice in Illuminate

 

Tuesday, October 2--EA 1.2 Scores and reflection in Illuminate

 

Wednesday, October 3--2.16, A Reversal of Fortune. "Cinderella, the Legend" by Kolbenschlag

 

Thursday, October 4--SOAPSTone for "Cinderella, the Legend"

 

Friday, October 5--2.17, Battle of the Sexes, "Why Women Always Take Advantage of Men" by Hurston

 

Monday, October 8; Tuesday, October 9--Unit One MC test corrections

 

Wednesday, October 10--PSAT for Sophomores; no school for other grades

 

Thursday, October 11--Inservice, No School for students

 

Friday, October 12--Fall Break, No School

 

Monday, October 15--2.17, Venn Diagram for the Kolbenschlag and Hurston pieces. End of First Nine Weeks

 

Tuesday, October 16, Wednesday, October 17--2.17, Author compare/contrast for Kolbenschlag and Hurston

 

Thursday, October 18--2.19, "A Rose for Emily"

 

Friday, October 19--2.19, "A Rose for Emily" second read questions

 

Monday, October 22-Wednesday, October 24--The Feminist Perspective in Hitchcock's "Rear Window"

 

Thursday, October 25--Reading for EA 2.2--"Reading for an Hour" and "The Chaser" Writing Analysis

 

Friday, October 26--Begin writing EA 2.2

 

Monday, October 29-Wednesday, October 31--Writing EA 2.2

 

Wednesday, November 21 - Friday, November 23--Thanksgiving Break

 

Monday, November 26 - Activity 3.8 - 3.12 Quiz

 

Tuesday, November 27 - Critical lens review related to EA 3.1

 

Wednesday, November 28 - Student exemplars for EA 3.1

 

Thursday, November 29 - Re-watch and discuss Acts IV and V of Othello

 

Friday, November 30 - Evidence, topic sentences, and structure of the argumentative essay

 

Monday, December 3 - Drafting Embedded Assessment 3.1

 

Tuesday, December 4 - Crafting Embedded Assessment 3.1

 

Wednesday, December 5 - Writing 

 

Thursday, December 6 - Peer editing/revising

 

Friday, December 7 - Final copy day. There will be no late work accepted, and no re-submissions for this assignment

 

Monday, December 10 - Springboard Unit 3 Multiple Choice Reading 

 

Tuesday, December 11 - Springboard Unit 3 Multiple Choice in Illuminate

 

Wednesday, December 12 - Springboard Unit 3 Corrections on paper

 

Thursday, December 13 - Springboard Zinc digital reading activity

 

Friday, December 14 - EA 3.1 reflection in Illuminate

 

Monday, December 17 - Final/EOC Exams, periods 1, 3, 5, 7

 

Tuesday, December 18 - Final/EOC Exams periods 2, 4, 6 (with a shortened 5th period)

 

Wednesday, December 19 - Makeup Final/EOC Exams

 

Thursday, December 20 - Friday, January 4--Winter Break

 

Monday, January 7- In-service, No School for Students

 

Tuesday, January 8 - Introduction to Unit 4

 

Wednesday, January 9 - Unpacking EA 4.1. Students choose groups and topics for EA 4.1

 

Thursday, January 10 - Activity 4.2- "News War" video from Frontline. Assignment--Guided questions from page       262. Assignment: Group members, topic, issue/event, and lens. Both turned in on Google Classroom.

 

Friday, January 11 - Warmup--discussion in student groups: p. 261, "What is the media?" Lenses/quotes on page 263. Getting started with research. Example annotated bibliography entry.

 

Monday, January 14 - Activity 4.3--Group research work on EA 4.1. Internet search engines are a good place to start. Focus on finding one article per group member and annotate as you go!

 

Tuesday, January 15 - Activity 4.4--Slanters, AKA Inflammatory Rhetorical Techniques. GO, page 274-275

 

Wednesday, January 16 - Activity 4.5

 

Thursday, January 17 - 

 

Friday, January 18 - 

 

Monday, January 21 - MLK Holiday, No School

 

Tuesday, January 22 - 

 

Wednesday, January 23 - 

 

Thursday, January 24 - 

 

Friday, January 25 - 

 

Monday, January 28  - 

 

Tuesday, January 29 - 

 

Wednesday, January 30 - 

 

Thursday, January 31 - 

 

Friday, February 1 - 

 

Monday, February 4 - 

 

Tuesday, February 5 - 

 

Wednesday, February 6 - 

 

Thursday, February 7 - 

 

Friday, February 8 - 

 

Monday, February 11 - 

 

Tuesday, February 12 -

 

Wednesday, February 13 - 

 

Thursday, February 14 - 

 

Friday, February 15 - 

 

Monday, February 18--Presidents Day, No School

 

Wednesday, March 13--End of 3rd quarter

Monday, March 25 - Friday, March 29--Spring Break, No School

 

Monday April 15 - Thursday, May 2--PARCC Testing Window (longer classes, alternate schedule)

Friday, April 19 - Vernal Holiday, No School

 

Wednesday, May 8 - Thursday, May 9--Senior Final Exams

Friday, May 10--Senior Makeup Exams

Tuesday, May 21--Graduation